Request for calls to Mpls City Council for May 1st march permit

the last meeting of the IPAC coalition we agreed to endorse the May 1st Immigrant Rights march and rally sponsored by the Minnesota Immigrant Rights Action Coalition and the May 1st Coalition.

For more information on the event, go to:

mirac1.wordpress.com

Below is the action alert for aclls to members of the Mpls City Council regarding the permit. The council will be hearing the issue at their meeting this morning (Friday).

CALL-IN TODAY: Permits Denied for Immigrant Rights March

The MN Immigrant Rights Action Coalition and the May 1st Coalition are
planning the 4th Annual March for Immigrant Rights on May 1st, 2009. We
have solicited permits for a march down Lake St. and a rally on Nicollett
Ave, and they have both been denied.

Just as we did two years ago, we are asking the Minneapolis City Council
to pass a resolution to support our march on Lake St. PLEASE CALL today to
let your city council member, the mayor and the chief of police that we
have right to march for immigrant rights on International Workers Day.
Below you will find the information to call or email to show your support.

Also, we are asking all those who can to PLEASE ATTEND the City Council
Meeting this Friday (TOMORROW) at 9:30am at City Hall room 317, 350 S 5th
St in Downtown Minneapolis, and join us for a PRESS CONFERENCE in front of
City Hall at 10:30am after the meeting. The press release is attached.

Thank you for your time! When you call your city council members, please
remind them:

– We greatly appreciate their support in the past and are looking forward
to their continued support as we work toward making Minneapolis a model of
free speech and democracy.

– It is not only in the interests of our freedom of speech to grant a
permit, but also in the interest of our safety. The safety of all the
marchers are at risk if the city refuses to grant a permit.

– It is in the interest of the city to demonstrate its concern for the
protection and safety of its most vulnerable residents. Immigrants and
their allies in Minneapolis have a right to demand equality and justice,
and the city has the responsibility to give them the space for it.

Mayor RT Rybak: (612) 673-2100 – rt@minneapolis.org

Mpls Chief of Police Tim Dolan: (612) 673-3787 –
police@ci.minneapolis.mn.us

Minneapolis City Council Members:
1 Paul Ostrow · (612) 673-2201 paul.ostrow@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
2 Cam Gordon · (612) 673-2202 cam.gordon@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
3 Diane Hofstede · (612) 673-2203 diane.hofstede@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
4 Barbara Johnson · (612) 673-2204 barbara.johnson@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
5 Don Samuels · (612) 673-2205 don.samuels@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
6 Robert Lilligren · (612) 673-2206 robert.lilligren@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
7 Lisa Goodman · (612) 673-2207
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/contact/email-form-goodman.asp
8 Elizabeth Glidden · (612) 673-2208
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/contact/email-form-glidden.asp
9 Gary Schiff · (612) 673-2209
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/contact/email-form-schiff.asp
10 Ralph Remington · (612) 673-2210 ralph.remington@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
11 Scott Benson · (612) 673-2211 scott.benson@ci.minneapolis.mn.us
12 Sandy Colvin Roy · (612) 673-2212
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/contact/email-form-roy.asp
13 Betsy Hodges · (612) 673-2213
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/contact/email-form-hodges.asp

Advertisements
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: